CaptureNX2 V2.2.6 Update

Tutorials, questions, demos, questionable images ,,,

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
Please ensure that you have a meaningful location included in your profile. Please refer to the FAQ for details of what "meaningful" is.

CaptureNX2 V2.2.6 Update

Postby biggerry on Thu Oct 28, 2010 12:46 pm

FYI, seems to be some issues with upgrading, but as always there will be people banging on about something :roll:

US Site
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17041

Asia
http://nikonasia-en.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/nikonasia_en.cfg/php/enduser/std_alp.php
gerry's photography journey
No amount of processing will fix bad composition - trust me i have tried.
User avatar
biggerry
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5927
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 12:40 am
Location: Under the flight path, Newtown, Sydney

Re: CaptureNX2 V2.2.6 Update

Postby surenj on Thu Oct 28, 2010 1:17 pm

Hey Gerry,

How do you find the stability of speed of NX2?

I find that LR2 is quite stable but have never used NX2 (the U points + d light make it so attractive). For example, I have run LR2 for about a month on my machine without a hitch... Core2Duo Win764 6GB.
User avatar
surenj
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7197
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 8:21 pm
Location: Artarmon NSW

Re: CaptureNX2 V2.2.6 Update

Postby biggerry on Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:00 pm

surenj wrote:How do you find the stability of speed of NX2?


Speed, is intermittment, after awhile it just gets slower and then sh$ts itself and dies, guaranteed

Stability, fairly predictable with normal files with only a few minor adjustments. Work with a pano stictched with 4 odd images, add half a dozen steps and a few control points and its almost guaranteed to crash.

I do not have the latest 2.2.6 version, I am still running 2.2.4.

box is a win 7 (32bit), core 2 duo 4 gb ram, very stable box, all other applications including more hardcore stuff like 3d CAD, counterstrike etc runs very very smoothly and nice.
gerry's photography journey
No amount of processing will fix bad composition - trust me i have tried.
User avatar
biggerry
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5927
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 12:40 am
Location: Under the flight path, Newtown, Sydney

Re: CaptureNX2 V2.2.6 Update

Postby aim54x on Sat Oct 30, 2010 12:13 am

I'm still running 2.2.1....no issues with speed or stability, but then again i dont keep it running for extended periods of time (all my training from my old XP/Athlon X2 box).

Box is Win 7 (64-bit) Phenom II X4 965 BE, OCZ 8gb 1600mhz DDR3 RAM which has been a godsend for everything
Cameron
Nikon F/Nikon 1 | Hasselblad V/XPAN| Leica M/LTM |Sony α/FE/E/Maxxum/M42
Wishlist Nikkor 24/85 f/1.4| Fuji Natura Black
Scout-Images | Flickr | 365Project
User avatar
aim54x
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7305
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 10:13 pm
Location: Penshurst, Sydney

Re: CaptureNX2 V2.2.6 Update

Postby Mr Darcy on Sat Oct 30, 2010 7:34 am

I'm running 224. When I tried going to 225, it wouldn't let me. When I checked, Asia site is still saying 225, not 226
224 has the usual memory leak problems. Not as bad os some of the earlier versions, but still...!
Greg
It's easy to be good... when there is nothing else to do
User avatar
Mr Darcy
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3413
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 11:35 pm
Location: The somewhat singed and blackened Blue Mountains

Re: CaptureNX2 V2.2.6 Update

Postby surenj on Sat Oct 30, 2010 3:52 pm

Will give a trial version a go I think...
User avatar
surenj
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7197
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 8:21 pm
Location: Artarmon NSW

Re: CaptureNX2 V2.2.6 Update

Postby malificentmuse on Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:58 pm

Its great to see "fixes" and D7000 support.. but I haven't got a D7000 yet, so its a bit of a tease :(

I've had problem with it slowly down and crashing, something about running out of memory... when I mass edit.
User avatar
malificentmuse
Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 12:26 am
Location: Eastlakes, NSW

Re: CaptureNX2 V2.2.6 Update

Postby DVEous on Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:46 pm

...Deleted...
Last edited by DVEous on Sat May 03, 2014 3:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
DVEous
Senior Member
 
Posts: 687
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 1:32 pm

Re: CaptureNX2 V2.2.6 Update

Postby biggerry on Sun Oct 31, 2010 11:10 pm

surenj wrote:Will give a trial version a go I think...


this I gotta see, a canon user using CNX2 - go for it mate.

DVEous wrote:I've read too many horror stories with 2.2.4,


on the contrary, I went from 2.2.1 and found things much better, still crap, but a better level of crap.

I have also moved to the 2.2.6 version and have not seen anything makes it any worse or any better.
gerry's photography journey
No amount of processing will fix bad composition - trust me i have tried.
User avatar
biggerry
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5927
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 12:40 am
Location: Under the flight path, Newtown, Sydney

Re: CaptureNX2 V2.2.6 Update

Postby DVEous on Mon Nov 01, 2010 1:27 am

... Obsolete ...
Last edited by DVEous on Sat May 03, 2014 3:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
DVEous
Senior Member
 
Posts: 687
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 1:32 pm

Re: CaptureNX2 V2.2.6 Update

Postby aim54x on Mon Nov 01, 2010 10:05 am

DVEous wrote:Hopefully, CNX3, when and if that ever happens, will be a lot more stable and responsive, with a better GUI, than CNX2.


I am waiting for CNX3 as well!

DVEous wrote:CNX 2.2.4 onwards has issues with the Intel i7 CPU.
It's well documented, and Nikon acknowledge the issue exists.


I'm glad I have an AMD!!!
Cameron
Nikon F/Nikon 1 | Hasselblad V/XPAN| Leica M/LTM |Sony α/FE/E/Maxxum/M42
Wishlist Nikkor 24/85 f/1.4| Fuji Natura Black
Scout-Images | Flickr | 365Project
User avatar
aim54x
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7305
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 10:13 pm
Location: Penshurst, Sydney

Re: CaptureNX2 V2.2.6 Update

Postby biggerry on Mon Nov 01, 2010 11:29 am

DVEous wrote:CNX 2.2.4 onwards has issues with the Intel i7 CPU.
It's well documented, and Nikon acknowledge the issue exists.


might be worthwhile posting a link for those potential upgraders with systems incorporating a i7 cpu.
gerry's photography journey
No amount of processing will fix bad composition - trust me i have tried.
User avatar
biggerry
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5927
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 12:40 am
Location: Under the flight path, Newtown, Sydney


Return to Post Processing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 0 guests

cron