Possible MB-D10 - en-el4a solution

Have your say on issues related to using a DSLR camera.

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
Please ensure that you have a meaningful location included in your profile. Please refer to the FAQ for details of what "meaningful" is.

Possible MB-D10 - en-el4a solution

Postby aim54x on Thu Sep 18, 2008 1:27 pm

Just on Poon's ebay site and saw this

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Phottix-Kosmo-for-Nikon-MB-D10-BL-3-EN-EL4a-D300-D700_W0QQitemZ200253412334QQihZ010QQcategoryZ48519QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Anyone have any thoughts on the matter? I have been very reluctant to buy non NIkon batteries for my D300 though.
Cameron
Nikon F/Nikon 1 | Hasselblad V/XPAN| Leica M/LTM |Sony α/FE/E/Maxxum/M42
Wishlist Nikkor 24/85 f/1.4| Fuji Natura Black
Scout-Images | Flickr | 365Project
User avatar
aim54x
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7305
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 10:13 pm
Location: Penshurst, Sydney

Re: Possible MB-D10 - en-el4a solution

Postby gstark on Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:50 pm

This is not a battery for the D300.

It's a battery for the MB-D10, to use instead of the EN-EL4 and rare-as-hens'-teeth BL-3. It also, obviously, includes the charger.

If you have a MB-D10, you might want to consider getting some AA's from Jeff Servaas. 8 of them fit into the AA holder that already have, and for about PP100 you could get two sets of batteries and a charger.

Finally, the Phottix BP-D300 is PP108 on the bargains page. That's a grip, battery, and charger, useful if you don't already have the MB-D10.

And finally, finally, if you do want the Kosmo, let me know and I'll see if I can get a forum price. Might be able to shave a couple more bucks off the price. :)
g.
Gary Stark
Nikon, Canon, Bronica .... stuff
The people who want English to be the official language of the United States are uncomfortable with their leaders being fluent in it - US Pres. Bartlet
User avatar
gstark
Site Admin
 
Posts: 22759
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Bondi, NSW

Re: Possible MB-D10 - en-el4a solution

Postby chrisk on Thu Sep 18, 2008 3:33 pm

i've done exactly as gary described above.
i have a spare battery that i use in the grip 99% of the time. if i need the higher frame rate or i run out of charge just load in some AA's. easy peasy. no extra gear or chargers etc required.
EM1 l 7.5 l 12-40 l 14 l 17 l 25 l 45 l 60 l 75 l AW1 l V3
User avatar
chrisk
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3317
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:50 pm
Location: Oyster Bay, Sydney

Re: Possible MB-D10 - en-el4a solution

Postby aim54x on Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:21 pm

Thanks Gary, Rooz,

I have the MB-D10, plenty of Eneloops and a few spare EN-EL3e's so power is not the problem. I was interested in the EN-EL4a route, that this looks to be a good way to getting to, but not as serious as to commit to purchasing yet. Was wondering if anyone has had any experiences in using the Kosmo device.

Cheers
Cameron
Cameron
Nikon F/Nikon 1 | Hasselblad V/XPAN| Leica M/LTM |Sony α/FE/E/Maxxum/M42
Wishlist Nikkor 24/85 f/1.4| Fuji Natura Black
Scout-Images | Flickr | 365Project
User avatar
aim54x
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7305
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 10:13 pm
Location: Penshurst, Sydney

Re: Possible MB-D10 - en-el4a solution

Postby MATT on Sat Sep 20, 2008 12:06 pm

I've got one of the cheap Photix MB-D10 knock offs... A little plasticy and only has a rubber grip on the bottom ( which is falling off), functions fine though with no issues. It was the only way I was getting a grip for the price. The car charger is a welcome addition though. The tripod mount does not feel secure and there is some play in the body when mounted. However the with a sigma 10-20 only its fine.

I also agree with the others, if you want the extra fps use some AA int eh grip that seems to work a treat and is a good back supply if caught out.

MATT
User avatar
MATT
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1748
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Biloela, QLD-----nikon--D700-----


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 5 guests