levels adjustment affects all layers

Tutorials, questions, demos, questionable images ,,,

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
Please ensure that you have a meaningful location included in your profile. Please refer to the FAQ for details of what "meaningful" is.

levels adjustment affects all layers

Postby gunn parker on Wed Jun 28, 2006 4:07 pm

Hi All
On one of the last photo's I placed in the review section it was mentioned that the head of the duck was too dark and should be lightened, so I opened it up in photo shop, used quick mask to select just the head and copied it into a new layer, then I created a new fill or adjustment layer and choose levels.
Now when I make the changes it effects the whole image and not just the ducks head, I have just the head layer selected, what am I doing wrong??
thanks
Andrew
Fuji Finepix s9500>>>D70s 18-70 lens
gunn parker
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:53 pm
Location: Willetton, Perth, Western Australia

Postby the foto fanatic on Wed Jun 28, 2006 4:12 pm

I believe that this would work:
1. Select the head
2. Open adjustment layer - the selection should still be valid. If it's not, you can save the selection from the "Select" drop-down menu after Step 1, and then reapply it after Step 2.
3. Make your exposure adjustments
4. Flatten the image and use Save As command to save, thus keeping your original intact.
TFF (Trevor)
My History Blog: Your Brisbane: Past & Present
My Photo Blog: The Foto Fanatic
Nikon stuff!
User avatar
the foto fanatic
Moderator
 
Posts: 4212
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2004 7:53 pm
Location: Teneriffe, Brisbane

Postby johnd on Wed Jun 28, 2006 5:17 pm

Andrew, I'm not in front of my photoshop PC at the moment, but I think there's a checkbox that says apply to all layers that may be checked by default. As Trevor has said, there is probably no need to copy/paste a new layer for the ducks head. Just make the ducks head selection then click on create new adjustment layer. The adjustment layer will only be made to the selection.

Cheers
John
D3, D300, 14-24/2.8, 24-70/2.8, 85/1.4, 80-400VR, 18-200VR, 105/2.8 VR macro, Sigma 150/2.8 macro
http://www.johndarguephotography.com/
User avatar
johnd
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1342
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Sandy Bay, Tas.

Postby gunn parker on Wed Jun 28, 2006 6:31 pm

Thanks, for all your help, I now have it working the right way.
thank
Andrew
Fuji Finepix s9500>>>D70s 18-70 lens
gunn parker
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:53 pm
Location: Willetton, Perth, Western Australia

Postby DaveB on Wed Jun 28, 2006 7:40 pm

As with most things Photoshop, there's more than one way. By default I would probably try an adjustment layer to brighten it, with a layer mask so the change only applies to the duck's head.
User avatar
DaveB
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1850
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:57 pm
Location: Box Hill, Vic

Postby johnd on Thu Jun 29, 2006 9:55 am

johnd wrote:Andrew, I'm not in front of my photoshop PC at the moment, but I think there's a checkbox that says apply to all layers that may be checked by default.


I got that bit wrong. No such checkbox. An adjustment layer affects all layers beneath it.

Cheers
John
D3, D300, 14-24/2.8, 24-70/2.8, 85/1.4, 80-400VR, 18-200VR, 105/2.8 VR macro, Sigma 150/2.8 macro
http://www.johndarguephotography.com/
User avatar
johnd
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1342
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Sandy Bay, Tas.

Postby rokkstar on Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:07 am

johnd wrote:
johnd wrote:Andrew, I'm not in front of my photoshop PC at the moment, but I think there's a checkbox that says apply to all layers that may be checked by default.


I got that bit wrong. No such checkbox. An adjustment layer affects all layers beneath it.

Cheers
John


Unless you alt click on the adjustment layer when you see a little arrow and it then only affects the layer directly beneath it.
Matt
User avatar
rokkstar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1432
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 4:27 pm
Location: Miserable cold wet England - D200

Postby johnd on Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:30 am

rokkstar wrote:
johnd wrote:
johnd wrote:Andrew, I'm not in front of my photoshop PC at the moment, but I think there's a checkbox that says apply to all layers that may be checked by default.


I got that bit wrong. No such checkbox. An adjustment layer affects all layers beneath it.

Cheers
John


Unless you alt click on the adjustment layer when you see a little arrow and it then only affects the layer directly beneath it.


Cool, thanks Matt. I'll try that technique tonight.
D3, D300, 14-24/2.8, 24-70/2.8, 85/1.4, 80-400VR, 18-200VR, 105/2.8 VR macro, Sigma 150/2.8 macro
http://www.johndarguephotography.com/
User avatar
johnd
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1342
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Sandy Bay, Tas.

Postby mudder on Sun Jul 23, 2006 6:26 pm

G'day,

Just noticed this thread...

To make a layer ONLY affect the image layer directly beneath it...

1) Create your adjustment layer as you normally would then, with the adjustment layer active...
2) Layer/Create clipping mask (Alt+Ctrl+G)

That will add the little arrow... Easey Peasey :)
Aka Andrew
User avatar
mudder
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3020
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 5:58 pm
Location: Melbourne - Burwood East


Return to Post Processing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron