Help!! with Metadata

Tutorials, questions, demos, questionable images ,,,

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
Please ensure that you have a meaningful location included in your profile. Please refer to the FAQ for details of what "meaningful" is.

Help!! with Metadata

Postby Manta on Wed Aug 09, 2006 6:02 pm

Okay - calling all Photoshop CS2 gurus out there. I've been wanting to use the history feature in the metadata dialogue to record all PP steps taken for a particular image. (Edit/Preferences/General - bottom of dialogue box Tick History Log and complete other details)

When viewing the metadata for the image (File/File Info...) I should be able to click on "History" in the left-hand list and see all steps relalting to that image. My problem is that with the metadata template that shows in my Photoshop CS2 program - I ain't got no "History" option in that list when I should have. All I've got is as shown in the screen capture below.

Any ideas how I can reset it to a default or somehow get the History option back? Second shot shows where it should reside (History is highlighted).

My options:

Image

The options which should be there (courtesy of Leek):
Image
Simon
D300 l MB-D10 l D70 l SB-800 l 70-200 VR l TC 17-E l 18-70 f3.5-4.5 l 70-300 f4-5.6 l 50 f1.4 l 90 Macro f2.8 l 12-24 f4
http://www.redbubble.com/people/manta
User avatar
Manta
Former Outstanding Member Of The Year
 
Posts: 3815
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Hamilton Qld

Postby Matt. K on Wed Aug 09, 2006 6:45 pm

Just had a quick look. The answer seems to be in the EDIT/PREFERENCES/GENERAL/HISTOGRAM menu....but I can't seem to get it working at the moment. I have to go out so will come back to it later. Meanwhile you might want to mess with these settings.
Regards

Matt. K
User avatar
Matt. K
Former Outstanding Member Of The Year and KM
 
Posts: 9906
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 7:12 pm
Location: North Nowra

Postby big pix on Wed Aug 09, 2006 6:50 pm

try resetting preferences in photoshop back to default
Cheers ....bp....
Difference between a good street photographer and a great street photographer....
Removing objects that do not belong...
happy for the comments, but
.....Please DO NOT edit my image.....
http://bigpix.smugmug.com Forever changing
User avatar
big pix
Senior Member
 
Posts: 4513
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 11:52 pm
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW.

Postby big pix on Wed Aug 09, 2006 7:01 pm

found........photoshot>edit>menus>scroll down to window>open, towards the bottom>histogram>turn on>OK..........

should work.....
Cheers ....bp....
Difference between a good street photographer and a great street photographer....
Removing objects that do not belong...
happy for the comments, but
.....Please DO NOT edit my image.....
http://bigpix.smugmug.com Forever changing
User avatar
big pix
Senior Member
 
Posts: 4513
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 11:52 pm
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW.

Postby Manta on Wed Aug 09, 2006 9:07 pm

No go Bernie. It's not actually a menu item, window or palette but part of the metadata template.

:cry:

Hopefully Matt can come up with something. Anyone else have any ideas???
Simon
D300 l MB-D10 l D70 l SB-800 l 70-200 VR l TC 17-E l 18-70 f3.5-4.5 l 70-300 f4-5.6 l 50 f1.4 l 90 Macro f2.8 l 12-24 f4
http://www.redbubble.com/people/manta
User avatar
Manta
Former Outstanding Member Of The Year
 
Posts: 3815
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Hamilton Qld

Postby Six on Wed Aug 09, 2006 9:38 pm

Well going by your screen shots, you are looking at the metadata of a tiff file, and Leek has a psd file. It's possible that the tiff format doesn't allow storing this extra data, and that you need to use a psd file to store it.
Six
Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 2:24 pm
Location: Lilyfield, Sydney

Postby Manta on Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:18 pm

Good point Six but I've tried it with PSDs, DNGs, TIFFs and JPEG. Same result. This TIFF just happened to be the one I was working with at the time I took the screen shot.
Simon
D300 l MB-D10 l D70 l SB-800 l 70-200 VR l TC 17-E l 18-70 f3.5-4.5 l 70-300 f4-5.6 l 50 f1.4 l 90 Macro f2.8 l 12-24 f4
http://www.redbubble.com/people/manta
User avatar
Manta
Former Outstanding Member Of The Year
 
Posts: 3815
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Hamilton Qld

Postby Matt. K on Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:44 pm

OK
I've got it working but I'm not sure why. Go to EDIT/PREFERENCE/GENERAL AND CLICK THE HISTORY LOG BOX. Check the text and metadata boxes. Restart the computer and it should now work. It worked for me but I'm not confident that it's the whole story.
Regards

Matt. K
User avatar
Matt. K
Former Outstanding Member Of The Year and KM
 
Posts: 9906
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 7:12 pm
Location: North Nowra

Postby Manta on Thu Aug 10, 2006 8:37 am

Thanks Matt. I had all those ticked but I'll try it again with the restart when I get home this arvo. My gut feeling is that I've got a corrupt template file that is not giving me all the default options. Leek tried to send a copy of his for me to replace mine but couldn't as the file contained 0kb! Very strange.
Simon
D300 l MB-D10 l D70 l SB-800 l 70-200 VR l TC 17-E l 18-70 f3.5-4.5 l 70-300 f4-5.6 l 50 f1.4 l 90 Macro f2.8 l 12-24 f4
http://www.redbubble.com/people/manta
User avatar
Manta
Former Outstanding Member Of The Year
 
Posts: 3815
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Hamilton Qld


Return to Post Processing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest

cron