radio triggers for studio flash

Had a play with something interesting? Got something that we all covet? Found a real lemon? Write a few lines about it, and share your experiences.

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
Please ensure that you have a meaningful location included in your profile. Please refer to the FAQ for details of what "meaningful" is.

radio triggers for studio flash

Postby Oz_Beachside on Sun Oct 22, 2006 9:20 pm

Hi

anyone use trustworthy radio triggers? I dont like the idea of connecting a $30 piece of junk to my gear, wondering if there were any opionions in here, on;

1. Bowens Triggers (dear at about $700 to set up)
2. Pocket Wizard http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=productlist&A=details&Q=&sku=441353&is=REG&addedTroughType=categoryNavigation
3. others? Nikon?

I need radio, not line of sight type.

Has anyone purchased from BHphoto?

thanks
Oz
Oz_Beachside

Postby Paul on Sun Oct 22, 2006 9:27 pm

I have no experience with any of these apart from the excellant Nikon CLS.
But from all reports and web reviews I have read the pocket wizards are the way to go.
Check out the Strobist blog which give you a better idea.
Nikon F80D, FM2n
RRS BH-55, 055XPROB
Smugmug
Paul

Postby Alpha_7 on Sun Oct 22, 2006 9:30 pm

I've heard only good things about the pocket wizards but I don't have any personal experience with them (but I'd love too!).
Alpha_7

Postby PiroStitch on Sun Oct 22, 2006 10:02 pm

i'm looking into these as well. Can't go wrong with pocket wizards as they've set the bar pretty high.

I'm looking into this one which can be had for fairly cheap. No complaints so far yet....
http://dslrblog.com/blog/chris-garrett/ ... ves-review
Hassy, Leica, Nikon, iPhone
Come follow the rabbit hole...
PiroStitch

Postby Raskill on Sun Oct 22, 2006 10:03 pm

I've used B&H Photo a few times. Always nice and fast. I think they offer a choice of shipper, which is good.